Googlecation: All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Google

Googlecation: All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Google

“When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.”–  Buddhist proverb

“Just google it!” is my typical response when someone tells me they don’t know how to do something or that they need information.

Over the course of a few years, I have discovered the educational empowerment of seeking out knowledge when I need it by searching for answers online (I am an autodidact via Google).

 I have been “googlecated.”

Googlecated = Google + educated (Googlecation = Google + education).

Googlecation = Google + education

When I want to know how to do something (for example, insert a video into PowerPoint, which I just googled yesterday and learned how to do it and then did it in all of about 2 minutes), I don’t wait on someone else to help me or do I even read a book.  I might do those things later.  My first step is to just google it!

It’s amazing how much you can learn online and for free.

“When the student is ready, Google is there.”–Diane Windingland

A year and a half ago, I self-published a book, Small Talk Big Results: Chit Chat Your Way to Success!, without having read a book or having attended a class on self-publishing.  I learned how to do it solely online by googling.  I paid nothing for the information.  The day after I finished writing, I googled “How to Self-Publish” and took it from there.  It wasn’t so hard.   It was only after I published the book that I picked up a few books on self-publishing from the library.  Whoa!  They were thick and full of an intimidating amount of information, some of it outdated.  I’m glad I hadn’t read them prior to self-publishing.  I might have given up before I even started!

I haven’t always been this way.  Nor do I believe self-education can completely replace formal education (I don’t know if I’d want to go to a completely self-educated doctor).  But, I used to think I needed in-person help from an expert (my poor husband was my computer expert for a long, long time.  I still do ask him for help on very technical things now and then).  I used to think that the most efficient way to learn was to have it spoon fed via a classroom teacher, then to read a text book and then apply the knowledge.  Now, I often do it in reverse.  I need to do something.  I try something.  It doesn’t work.  I google a question or keywords.  Read some information.  Maybe watch a video (thank you, YouTube).  Try again.  Have some success.  Have some failure. Repeat.  Maybe read a book and then maybe take a class.  When I do take a class, I retain so much more because  I already have a base of knowledge and experience.  Sometimes I end up giving the teacher information!

A few months ago, I saw a nifty Info-graphic on how to get more out of a Google Search.  The Info-graphic was designed for students doing Google searches, but I learned a few tricks, too.

“Just Google it!”

Oh, how I wish more people would seek out information, at least to learn a little bit so that their questions can be more informed!

Bart Simpson at the Blackboard GoogleThe applications of a “just google it!” mindset go beyond education.

When you are networking, do you ever google the person or the business/organization?  Do you learn information that can help you build your career or business?

Company websites, LinkedIn and more can be treasure troves of information.

How have you been “googlecated”?

About Diane Windingland
I speak for organizations that want their people to have better, more profitable conversations.

One Response to Googlecation: All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Google

  1. Pingback: Are you a Googler?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 979 other followers

