My Purse: Till Death Do Us Part

Have you ever noticed that as women get older, their purses get bigger?

When I was a teenager I had a wallet.  And my mother had this ridiculously large purse.  I vowed I would never turn into a “bag lady” like my mother.

Well, I’ve become my mother. I have a huge purse.  It could have its own zip code.   It can hold pretty much anything:  keyboard for my iPad, grooming accessories . . . small children.

No really!  Here’s a picture of one of my granddaughters at 3 months.  In .  .  . my purse.

 Baby in Purse

She seemed quite content . . . I’ll have to take her purse shopping someday.

Because my own daughter, who only carries a wallet, won’t go purse shopping with me.  She won’t even walk into Kohl’s with me, for fear that I might veer off toward the purse department.

I can’t help it that it takes me hours to find just the right purse.  It’s like finding the right man.

I’m a serial monogamist when it comes to purses.  Unlike many women who have a purse for every outfit, I’m a one-purse woman.  Oh, sure, I have a cheesy little clutch bag for super fancy events—but, I feel so guilty when I go out with the little tart.  My faithful purse may be a little worn—the patent leather is cracking on the straps and she’s missing a few rivets–some might even call her an “old bag.”

But, It’s till death-do-us-part.  Or, until Kohl’s has a really good sale.

This post has pretty much nothing to do with conversation.  I’m working on a short stand-up routine for my Toastmasters club.  I’d like to make it a little longer and a little more funny, if you have suggestions.

About Diane Windingland
I speak for organizations that want their people to have better, more profitable conversations.

7 Responses to My Purse: Till Death Do Us Part

  1. Sue Welch says:

    That was great ! I love to purse shop, I will goo with you! Penneys has nice purses too. I love that cute baby in the purse. Sue

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. kimterry says:

    Diane, I wish you lived in my area. We’d go out for drinks and lunch and then hit Sam Moon’s and Charming Charlie. Except for the fact that I’m a “purse-polygamist”, you’re a woman after my own heart. :-)))

  3. Nicola says:

    Ha! Who can’t relate? You asked for feedback so here goes. Think about anthropomorphizing your purse. If it could talk what would it say to you? Tell us why you believe our purses get bigger as we get older. How does your purse make you feel? Why the attachment? You could bring in how your husband feels about your purse and your response to him. And finally I’d like to hear if you feel any camaraderie with other women with big purses or do you secretly envy the women who seemingly get by carrying only little dainty purses? Love to see your stand-up on this. Looking forward to Friday!

  4. kimterry says:

    Diane, I posted two pics of my latest “sister wife” on my blog. See http:kimwriter.wordpress.com/ for pics of “Miss Burgundy”. :-))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 978 other followers

