How a Haircut Saved Me from the Ugly Truth

“You are big and ugly,” the little boy said, smirking, trying to goad me into a reaction.  It was a Friday night and the boy was one of several I was instructing in a karate class.  It had been a long, stressful week and the last thing I needed was a 7-year-old smart-alec.

My first, but silent, retort was, “at least I’m not small and insignificant!”  What actually came out of my mouth was, “drop and do 25 push ups!”

The kid had touched a nerve. I know he didn’t really mean anything by it, but I was feeling big, ugly AND insignificant.  I’d gained 30 pounds in the last few years, every day was a “bad-hair day” and I felt like I wasn’t doing anything especially important with my life, now that my kids are largely grown.  In the span of 10 seconds I had a mini-mid-life crisis.

In his brash innocence, he had stated the Ugly Truth.  So, what was I going to do?  Stew about it?  Get angry?  Or, just brush it off?  My typical reaction would be to shrug it off and get on with life.  But this time, I decided to act.

I needed a change, and I needed a change fast!  So, the next day, I got a killer hair cut and color.  Really.  I’d never before spent more than $14 on a hair cut and had never had my hair professionally colored.  What had I been waiting for?  I felt like a million bucks!  I’m still working on creating a new life-work, I’m still 30 pounds overweight and my hair doesn’t look quite as good as the day of the haircut, but my little hair cut gave me the confidence boost I needed to overcome a 7-year old’s version of the Ugly Truth!

When someone makes an inconsiderate or unkind remark, you do have choices and one of those choices is to consider if there is any truth to the remark and, if there is, what you can do about it.  Act and overcome the Ugly Truth.

My new haircut

About Diane Windingland
I speak for organizations that want their people to have better, more profitable conversations.

2 Responses to How a Haircut Saved Me from the Ugly Truth

  1. Joan Oen says:

    An inspirational and wise story. It’s amazing how The Universe throws us tests of our self esteem when we least expect it. And I’ve seen your new haircut–it’s fabulous!

  2. Janie Jasin says:

    I am doing my up front work re: the MASTERS CLASS and the first thing I thought of as I looked at your site was… Why doesn’t this lovely woman ditch the blob of hair? So much darkness crowding the wonderful face… and then I went to the blog and there you were with your new hair. Hair is a true… myth we carry.
    I remember agonizing over to color or not after 65..???????? I asked hundreds of people. Loreal Light Ash was my color… but to swim, sun, wash it so often after three days it was orange.. So… three haircuts later I was Santa… hundreds of people looked at me and said…”Your hair.. it is so beautiful” “I love your hair” “Is that your color?” So who knew?
    Carry on.. can’t wait to see how the Master Speaker class works out… bring your lesser hair and bigger self! Janie Jasin www,janiespeaks.com

Leave a Reply

