Social Networking 101: LinkedIn and Twitter and Facebook, Oh, My!

For the past few days, I have put in HOURS (I’m guessing about 25 hours) putting together a presentation on Social Networking (90 slides!).  All this for a free presentation to a Toastmasters group on Thursday night.  At about hour 20, I thought, why am I spending so much time on this?  I doubt more than 20 people will even be at the presentation.

As I reflected on the “why” I came up with these reasons:

1. Social Networking (and Social Media) are great ways to start and continue “conversation.”  I’m all about getting people to communicate.

2. This was an opportunity for me to learn:

–more about Social Networking (I did)

–more about making Power Point Presentations (I really did!  I even upgraded to Office 2010 in the middle!)

3. This was an opportunity to give back to an organization, Toastmasters, that has changed my life.

4. I could get a wider audience by posting the presentation to Slideshare–and I did (140 views in the first 16 hours)

5. I might help change someone’s life.  If people make it through to the end, they will see a heart-warming example of how a Facebook post made a huge difference in a little girl’s life.

Here’s the presentation:

About Diane Windingland
I speak for organizations that want their people to have better, more profitable conversations.

Leave a Reply

